Site requires flash 8
User Info
Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
(Register)
Membership:
Latest: Breeze79
Charter Members: 14
Forum Posters: 798
Overall: 14383
Upcoming Meetings:

Calendar

Quick Links
» Online Meetings
» Photo Gallery
» Web links

No Sound in Bioshock
Discussion of PC games.
Post new topic Reply to topic Printer Friendly Page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
>
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
`Smaug
Site Admin
Site Admin

`Smaug

Offline

Joined: Oct 19, 1999
Posts: 16966
Location: United States
Karma: +19

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 04:32 PM
Reply with quote

For those trying the demo, and or full version of Bioshock, you may have an issue like I did where the game has no sound after the initial movie. this happens on Vista and XP, and there are fixes for both found by gamers of course.

Windows XP: Set your soundcard settings to one notch below your current settings (I am set to 24bit 44100KHz)

Vista: Run the game in Windows XP SP2 Compatibility mode.

If you need detailed instructions on how to do either, reply to this post and I will try to help.


_________________
`Smaug (Marty R) - GCC Webmaster /=][=SA Member / Proud Member of Havok

Last edited by `Smaug on Sun Feb 22, 2009 05:43 AM; edited 3 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Skype Photo Gallery XFireAdd to XFire buddy list
gfffgames
Stranger

gfffgames

Offline

Joined: Aug 21, 2007
Posts: 2
Location: georgia
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 01:20 PM
Reply with quote

Im using vista How do i get the sound to work? i need detailed information if thats possible thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile
SG_01
GCC Staff
GCC Staff

SG_01

Offline

Joined: Mar 06, 2002
Posts: 4152
Location: Netherlands
Karma: +8

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 04:06 PM
Reply with quote

Running the game in Compatilibity mode is a simple operation:

  • Right click the shortcut for the game, or navigate to the executable for the game and right click that.
  • Click Properties.
  • Click on the Compatability tab.
  • Make sure that the checkbox for "Execute this program in compatability mode." is checked.
  • Select "Windows XP (Service Pack 2)" in the list below.
  • Click Ok and launch the game


_________________

Lunarwrit, the thoughts behind the news
XBox 360: Lunarchild
Playstation 3: SG_01

Last edited by SG_01 on Wed Aug 22, 2007 04:08 PM; edited 1 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website ICQ Number MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery XFireAdd to XFire buddy list
`Smaug
Site Admin
Site Admin

`Smaug

Offline

Joined: Oct 19, 1999
Posts: 16966
Location: United States
Karma: +19

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 04:07 PM
Reply with quote

No problem Smile

1 - Right click the game icon on your desktop and select "Properties"

2 - Go to he "Compatibility" tab

3 - Select the checkbox to use compatibility mode, this will enable the greyed out field to be changed

4 - Select "Windows XP SP2" compatibility mode

5 - Save changes, exit, and enjoy Bioshock wih sound

I hope this helps, and I have attached a screenshot:



_________________
`Smaug (Marty R) - GCC Webmaster /=][=SA Member / Proud Member of Havok
Back to top
View user's profile Skype Photo Gallery XFireAdd to XFire buddy list
`Smaug
Site Admin
Site Admin

`Smaug

Offline

Joined: Oct 19, 1999
Posts: 16966
Location: United States
Karma: +19

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 05:08 PM
Reply with quote

I also had some issues with the native widescreen support in Bioshock (I have a 24" widescreen 16:10 monitor).

A handy widescreen gaming community group has released a tool to correct the lousy out of the box widescreen picture. For those running Vista it doesn't work 100%, but a fix is coming.


_________________
`Smaug (Marty R) - GCC Webmaster /=][=SA Member / Proud Member of Havok
Back to top
View user's profile Skype Photo Gallery XFireAdd to XFire buddy list
gfffgames
Stranger

gfffgames

Offline

Joined: Aug 21, 2007
Posts: 2
Location: georgia
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 07:25 PM
Reply with quote

when i right click the bioshock icon I do not get the compatability tab, what do i do?

Back to top
View user's profile
`Smaug
Site Admin
Site Admin

`Smaug

Offline

Joined: Oct 19, 1999
Posts: 16966
Location: United States
Karma: +19

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 08:20 AM
Reply with quote

First you have to select "Properties" on your right click, then you will see the tab and box.


_________________
`Smaug (Marty R) - GCC Webmaster /=][=SA Member / Proud Member of Havok
Back to top
View user's profile Skype Photo Gallery XFireAdd to XFire buddy list
bluecat99
Stranger

bluecat99

Offline

Joined: Aug 22, 2007
Posts: 4
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:50 AM
Reply with quote

I found your link to this posted in a thread on GameFAQs Bioshock message board, thankyou. You asked that feedback be left here, so here I am!

Unfortunately neither solution works for me. After the opening movie I have no sound at all, and even during the menu sequences I seem to be missing some sounds too. I have up to date drivers for both video and audio and have tried combinations of older drivers too with no effect. Using WinXP compat mode I do get some sound but it is too distorted, out of synch and too high pitched to be of ay use though the menu sounds are back to normal.

My system is not top line but should run this with no problem and as far as I'm aware it contains no problem or unusual hardware.
Athlon 64 4000+ @2.52Ghz
3Gb DDR400 RAM
ECS RD480 A939 ATI Crossfire mobo
Asus ATI Radeon X1800XT 512Mb
Realtek HD 7.1 onboard audio
Vista Ultimate x86 edition

I cannot consider purchasing the full game unless I can be certain I won't have the same problems I am having with the demo and I cannot justify (or afford) the cost involved in purchasing new hardware for just one game either.
Any further help would be very welcome indeed.

Back to top
View user's profile
`Smaug
Site Admin
Site Admin

`Smaug

Offline

Joined: Oct 19, 1999
Posts: 16966
Location: United States
Karma: +19

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 04:02 PM
Reply with quote

Welcome Blue, and thanks for the feedback.

Sorry it didn't work for you, but we may be able to help more given a little time. I know that I have tested the fixes on non-ultimate versions of Vista, and it appears from other Bioshock issues (Widescreen problems I am researching) that it relates to DirectX 10, but I am not convinced of that entirely yet.

In your case, you mentioned trying both fixes, what is your audio codec set to?

In vista, go to Control Panel - Sounds - Select Speakers - click on Properties - Then click the Advanced tab

What is your default codec?

Is it possible you can email me a copy of your DirectX diagnostics? webmaster (at) GameClubCentral.com

Click on Start - in the search box, type in DXDIAG

Click Save all Information and save it to a file


_________________
`Smaug (Marty R) - GCC Webmaster /=][=SA Member / Proud Member of Havok
Back to top
View user's profile Skype Photo Gallery XFireAdd to XFire buddy list
`Smaug
Site Admin
Site Admin

`Smaug

Offline

Joined: Oct 19, 1999
Posts: 16966
Location: United States
Karma: +19

Post Post subject: No Sound in Bioshock
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 04:07 PM
Reply with quote

A buddy of mine who works for MS has suggested to me something GCC actually discovered back when DirectX 9b was released. It SEEMS this problem may revolve around DirectSound acceleration, and back in 2001, this caused a BUNCH of VOIP and sound related issues in many games.

I predict Bioshock won't be the first game with issues like this until this is in DirectX 10 until it is verified and solved.

I am researching the possible bug now, and may know something in the next few hours.

You think you got it bad? I actually bought the game and had to support a product I bought Smile Funny part is, I bought it to review. I am fairly confident this is a Windows level issue wih DirectX, as it does happen in XP also, not jus Vista. Keep the faith, we created this site to assist mature gamers with problems like this, and I intend on sticking through this one.

I have also sent a courtesy email to Take2 about this issue, and I am on the phone with PR now.


_________________
`Smaug (Marty R) - GCC Webmaster /=][=SA Member / Proud Member of Havok
Back to top
View user's profile Skype Photo Gallery XFireAdd to XFire buddy list

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
>
Post new topic Reply to topic Printer Friendly Page
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Search